• Facebook
  • LinkedIn
In this season, we reflect on the abundance the year has provided.

This past month we remembered the founding of the Hall and its history. Nonprofits need the support of their community to survive, so the Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame wants to take this opportunity to thank you and express our appreciation for your past and continued interest and support. We are already planning for next year. As you will see below, we have many exciting projects in the works. We look forward to seeing each of you at an upcoming event.
Elizabeth “Betty” Heid
Board Chair

On September 2, 2015 the Hall Celebrated it’s 30th Anniversary

Over 30 Hall inductees attended the Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame 30th Anniversary Celebration.
The Hall and its supporters enjoyed an elegant evening at the Fritz Knoebel School of Hospitality Management in the Joy Burns Center at the University of Denver. Award winning reporter and anchor
Brooke Wagner from Fox KDVR 31 News served as emcee. Founder M. L. Hanson; current Board Chair Betty Heid; and former board chairs Cathy Hatfield and Ruby Mayeda gave presentations on the Hall’s history and the role Colorado women played in breaking barriers, solving problems and building successes.The Hall premiered videos of three eras of Colorado history: 1600-1900; 1900 to 1960 and 1960 to the present. These videos and a speaker are available to the public.

Special guest Tom Noel “Dr. Colorado,” popular historian and author, discussed the importance of recording and remembering women’s contributions to history and the relevance of the Hall in the past, the present and the future.

Her Story Remains to be Written

According to Professor Tom Noel, “Colorado history has been ‘his story’.” In a 1980 study, out of approximately 10,000 books written on Colorado history, only about 10 focused on Women.

Inductees in the News
National Women’ Hall of Fame Inducts
Carlotta LaNier and Phillipa Marrack
Two honorees of Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame will be inducted into the National Hall in Seneca Falls, NY at a noon luncheon on October 3, 2015 followed by a gala reception that evening. Several activities are planned throughout the weekend. Visit the National Hall’s website for additional information.

Carlotta LaNier (2004) was the youngest of nine students who integrated Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas in 1957.


Philippa Marrack
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
Dr. Phillippa Marrack (2010) is internationally recognized for her work on understanding the immune system.





ML Hanson, Founder Colorado Women's Hall of Fame
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
Girls Scouts of Colorado honors Hall Founder, M.L. Hanson, with Women of Distinction Award.
Please join us on October 20, 2015, for the Thin Mint Dinner beginning at 5:30at the Sheraton Downtown Denver as we cheer and congratulate our founder as she receives this award. Visit the Girl Scouts ofColorado website for additional information or to purchase tickets.




  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
University College of Dublin awards Diana Wall with Ulysses Prize

This prestigious prize is awarded annually to only two people whose work has made an outstanding global contribution. Wall (2014) is a distinguished professor at CSU. Dublin Professor Joe Carthy explained that Wall’s 30 years of research in the Antarctic on soils andbiodiversity has made her, “one of a group of highly influentialscientists whose opinions are regularly published in international journals and listened to by policymakers.”



Polly Baca
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
Polly Baca honored for her service

Polly Baca (2000), the first woman elected to the Colorado senate and the first Hispanic woman to serve in leadership in any U.S. Senate, was recently honored by the Jefferson County Democratic Latino Initiative for her service to the state of Colorado. Baca will also receive a new social justice award from the Colorado Latino Leadership, Advocacy and Research Organization at the Bernie Valdez Award on September 19, 2015.

Colorado Women's Hall of Fame

Donate to Help Us Write Women Into History!

Help the Hall preserve and amplify the legacy of Colorado's most extraordinary women and inspire future generations of women and girls to greater achievement. Your generous donation helps fund our ability to continue this legacy.

Donate Today

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This